:

Cooperation with the OSCE

The Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) is the world's largest regional organization, which consists of 57 participating States, including all European countries, the CIS states, the US and Canada.

The OSCE mandate covers a wide range of issues within the politico-military, economic and environmental, and human dimensions: combating terrorism, arms control, confidence and security-building measures, ensuring economic and environmental security, development of democratic institutions, rule of law and protection of human rights. All decisions within the OSCE are taken by consensus. All participating States have an equal status.

The OSCE comprehensive approach to security and a wide range of participants make the Organization an important and unique international forum for political dialogue.

The Republic of Belarus has been a full-fledged member of the OSCE since January 30, 1992 having its Permanent mission to the OSCE in Vienna.

Belarus actively participates in the processes of elaborating and adopting OSCE decisions and documents, thus making its contribution to the development of the common European dialogue on security and cooperation issues.

Belarus takes an active part in the meetings of the OSCE Ministerial councils, in the work of  its main executive and subsidiary bodies: the Permanent Council (PC) and its committees, the Forum for Security Cooperation (FSC), as well as the Joint Consultative Group (JCG) and the Open Skies Consultative Commission (OSCC), which are the negotiating bodies for the Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe and the Open Skies Treaty respectively.

In 2003 under Belarus’ chairmanship the OSCE Strategy Document for the Economic and Environmental Dimension was drafted and adopted at the OSCE Ministerial Council meeting in Maastricht. Belarus initiated the adoption of the Ministerial Council decision on combating corruption in 2004 in Sofia and the decision on protecting critical energy infrastructure from terrorist attacks in 2007 in Madrid. In 2015, the Belarusian side initiated the adoption of the FSC decision “The role of the OSCE in supporting the implementation of the UN Security Council Resolution 1540”. In 2017, during the OSCE Ministerial Council in Vienna, Belarus, together with the United States and Italy, co-authored the adopted of the decision “Strengthening efforts to combat all forms of child trafficking, including for sexual exploitation”. In 2019, the OSCE Ministerial Council in Bratislava adopted a Commemorative declaration initiated by Belarus and Spain on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the OSCE principles governing non-proliferation and the 15th anniversary of UN SCR 1540.

The Republic of Belarus successfully chaired the following OSCE bodies: the OSCE FSC in April-August 2005; the OSCC in September-December 2008 and January-April 2020; the Economic and Environmental Committee of the OSCE’s PC in 2010; the Third Conference to Review the Implementation of the Treaty on Open Skies in June 2015; the JCG in January — March 2016.

Since September 2014, Belarus has provided a platform for meetings of the Trilateral Contact Group on Ukraine and its four working groups, which are regularly held in Minsk (in 2020, in connection with the COVID-19 pandemic, the meetings were held in a virtual format).

Representatives of Belarus take part in the meetings of the Minsk Group within the framework of the negotiation process on a peaceful settlement of the conflict in Nagorno-Karabakh. In March 2015 and June 2018, country visits to Belarus of the OSCE’s Minsk Group Co-Chairs and the Personal Representative of the OSCE Chairman-in-Office for Nagorno-Karabakh were organized.

Representatives of Belarus work in the OSCE Secretariat, institutions and field missions, including the Special Monitoring Mission to Ukraine and the OSCE Observer Mission at the Russian checkpoints Gukovo and Donetsk on the Russian-Ukrainian border. Since July 2016, a representative of Belarus N.Drozd has been heading the OSCE Centre in Ashgabat. Since March 2020, E.Kupchina has been the OSCE Coordinator on transnational threats.

Belarus interacts pragmatically and constructively with the OSCE Secretariat and institutions. In 2018, OSCE Secretary General T.Greminger visited Belarus three times. The OSCE Representative on Freedom of the Media H.Desir and the Director of the OSCE/ODIHR I.Gisladottir paid visits to Belarus in March 2019 and in February 2020 respectively.  

The delegation of the National Assembly of the Republic of Belarus takes an active part in the work of the OSCE Parliamentary Assembly (PA). In 2011-2014, OSCE PA adopted resolutions initiated by f Belarus on the topics of combating human trafficking, new and renewable energy sources, “green” economy, protection and promotion of socio-economic rights in the OSCE area.

On July 5-9, 2017 Minsk hosted the 26th Annual Session of the OSCE PA which was devoted to strengthening mutual trust and cooperation for peace and prosperity. The Minsk declaration of the OSCE PA contained resolutions adopted at the annual session, including the resolution “Developing timely and effective legislative, regulatory, administrative responses to emerging new psychoactive substances” that was initiated by the Belarusian side.

The final declaration of the 27th session of the OSCE PA in Berlin (July 2018) included the resolution “Promotion of digital economy in the interests of ensuring economic growth in the OSCE area”, initiated by the Belarusian delegation. The Belarusian resolution “Strategic forecasting in science, technology and innovation for sustainable development” was also adopted at the 28th OSCE PA session in Luxembourg (July 2019).

On April 29-30, 2019 Minsk hosted an international parliamentary conference of the OSCE PA’s Silk Road Support Group “One Belt, One Road: Deepening Cooperation for Sustainable Development and Prosperity” with the participation of the Assembly’s President, G.Tsereteli.

Minsk is being actively chosen as a site for OSCE events of various formats. In October 2018, a high-level OSCE international conference “Preventing and Combating Terrorism in the Digital Age” was held in the capital of Belarus. In 2019 alone, Minsk hosted three OSCE regional seminars: on the implementation of UNSCR 1540 (April), on the deactivation of small arms and light weapons (April), on the impact of new information and communication technologies on combating trafficking in persons (July), as well as a seminar on paperless trade and single window development under the OSCE Project “Promoting economic connectivity in the OSCE” (March).

Belarus supports the priority role of the OSCE in conflict settlement within its area of responsibility, stipulated by the Charter for European Security, based on the respect for sovereignty and territorial integrity of the participating States.

The Republic of Belarus is interested in a wider use of the scope and potential of the OSCE with a view to strengthening security in the OSCE area and to creating favourable conditions for the development of cooperation.

Belarus traditionally positions itself as one of the most active and consistent supporters of a transformation of the OSCE into a full-fledged efficient international organization, acting in the interests of all participating States.

Sweden has taken over the Chairmanship of the OSCE in 2021. Poland and North Macedonia will chair the Organization in 2022 and 2023 respectively.

 

Belarusian Diplomatic Missions

All Missions Belarus' Foreign Ministry
Go to

:

Об участии Республики Беларусь в ОБСЕ

Организация по безопасности и сотрудничеству в Европе (ОБСЕ) является крупнейшей региональной организацией, в состав которой входят 57 государств-участников, включая все европейские страны, страны СНГ, США и Канаду.

Мандат ОБСЕ охватывает широкий круг вопросов в рамках военно-политического, экономико-экологического и гуманитарного измерений: борьба с терроризмом, контроль над вооружениями, меры по укреплению доверия и безопасности, обеспечение экономической и экологической безопасности, а также защита прав человека и развитие демократических институтов. Решения в ОБСЕ принимаются на основе консенсуса, все государства-участники имеют одинаковый статус.

Всеобъемлющий подход ОБСЕ к вопросам безопасности и широкий состав участников делают Организацию важным и уникальным международным форумом для политического диалога.

Республика Беларусь является полноправным членом ОБСЕ с 30 января 1992 года. В Вене действует Постоянное представительство Республики Беларусь при ОБСЕ.

Беларусь принимает активное участие в процессе выработки и принятия решений и документов ОБСЕ и тем самым вносит свой вклад в развитие общеевропейского диалога по вопросам сотрудничества и безопасности.

Беларусь активно участвует в заседаниях Совета министров иностранных дел (СМИД) ОБСЕ, в работе основных и вспомогательных органов ОБСЕ – Постоянного совета и его комитетов, Форума по сотрудничеству в области безопасности (ФСОБ), а также Совместной консультативной группы (СКГ) и Консультативной комиссии по открытому небу (ККОН) – переговорных органов по Договору об обычных вооруженных силах в Европе (ДОВСЕ) и Договору по открытому небу (ДОН) соответственно.

Под председательством Беларуси в 2003 году была разработана и принята на СМИД ОБСЕ в Маастрихте Стратегия ОБСЕ в области экономического и экологического измерения. В 2004 году на СМИД ОБСЕ в Софии по инициативе Беларуси было одобрено решение о борьбе с коррупцией, в 2007 году на мадридском СМИД ОБСЕ – решение о защите важнейших объектов энергетической инфраструктуры от террористических атак. В 2015 году белорусская сторона инициировала принятие решения ФСОБ «Роль ОБСЕ в поддержке выполнения резолюции Совета Безопасности ООН 1540». В 2017 году в ходе СМИД ОБСЕ в Вене Беларусь вместе с США и Италией выступила соавтором принятого решения «Укрепление усилий по борьбе с торговлей детьми и сексуальной эксплуатацией детей». В 2019 году СМИД ОБСЕ в Братиславе принял инициированную Беларусью и Испанией памятную декларацию по случаю 25-й годовщины принятия «Принципов, регулирующих нераспространение» и 15-й годовщины резолюции СБ ООН 1540.

В апреле-августе 2005 года Республика Беларусь успешно председательствовала на ФСБ, в сентябре-декабре 2008 года и январе-апреле 2020 года – в ККОН, в 2010 году – в Комитете по экономическим и экологическим вопросам постсовета, в июне 2015 года – на третьей Конференции по рассмотрению выполнения ДОН, в январе – марте 2016 года – в СКГ.

С сентября 2014 года Беларусь предоставляет площадку для заседаний Трехсторонней контактной группы по Украине и ее четырех рабочих групп, которые регулярно проходят в Минске (в 2020 году в связи с пандемией COVID-19 заседания проходили в виртуальном формате).

Белорусские представители участвуют в заседаниях Минской группы в рамках переговорного процесса по вопросу мирного урегулирования в Нагорном Карабахе. В марте 2015 года и июне 2018 года организованы страновые визиты в Беларусь сопредседателей Минской группы ОБСЕ и личного представителя Действующего председателя ОБСЕ по Нагорному Карабаху.

Белорусские представители работают в Секретариате, институтах и полевых миссиях ОБСЕ, включая Специальную мониторинговую миссию в Украине и Наблюдательную миссию ОБСЕ на российских пунктах пропуска «Гуково» и «Донецк» на российско-украинской границе. С июля 2016 года представитель Беларуси Н.Дрозд возглавляет Центр ОБСЕ в Ашхабаде, с марта 2020 года Е.Купчина является координатором ОБСЕ по транснациональным угрозам.

Беларусь прагматично и конструктивно взаимодействует с Секретариатом и институтами ОБСЕ. В 2018 году Генеральный секретарь ОБСЕ Т.Гремингер трижды посетил Беларусь. В марте 2019 года состоялся визит в Беларусь представителя ОБСЕ по вопросам свободы СМИ А.Дезира, в феврале 2020 года – визит директора БДИПЧ ОБСЕ И.Гисладоттир.

Делегация Национального собрания Республики Беларусь принимает активное участие в работе Парламентской ассамблеи (ПА) ОБСЕ. По инициативе Беларуси в 2011-2014 гг. были приняты резолюции ПА ОБСЕ по тематике борьбы с торговлей людьми, новым и возобновляемым источником энергии, «зеленой» экономике, защите и продвижению социально-экономических прав в регионе ОБСЕ.

5-9 июля 2017 года в г.Минске состоялась 26-я Ежегодная сессия ПА ОБСЕ, которая была посвящена укреплению взаимного доверия и сотрудничества во имя мира и процветания. На ее заключительном заседании была принята Минская декларация, в которую вошли резолюции, принятые в рамках мероприятия, включая инициированную белорусской стороной резолюцию «Разработка своевременных и эффективных законодательных, нормативных, административных мер реагирования на появление новых психоактивных веществ».

В итоговую декларацию 27-й сессии ПА ОБСЕ в Берлине (7-11 июля 2018 г.) включена инициированная белорусской делегацией резолюция «Продвижение цифровой экономики в интересах обеспечения экономического роста на пространстве ОБСЕ». По итогам 28-й сессии ПА ОБСЕ в Люксембурге (4-8 июля 2019 г.) принята белорусская резолюция «Стратегическое прогнозирование в областях науки, технологий и инноваций для устойчивого развития».

29-30 апреля 2019 г. в Минске состоялась международная парламентская конференция Группы поддержки Шелкового пути ПА ОБСЕ «Один пояс, один путь: углубление сотрудничества во имя устойчивого развития и процветания» с участием Председателя Ассамблеи Г.Церетели.

Минск активно избирается в качестве площадки для мероприятий ОБСЕ различного формата. В октябре 2018 года в белорусской столице состоялась международная конференция ОБСЕ высокого уровня «Предотвращение и борьба с терроризмом в цифровую эпоху». В 2019 году в Минске проведены три региональных семинара ОБСЕ: по выполнению резолюции СБ ООН 1540 (апрель), по деактивации легкого и стрелкового оружия (апрель), по воздействию новых информационно-коммуникационных технологий на противодействие торговле людьми (июль), а также семинара по безбумажной торговле и развитию «единого окна» в рамках проекта ОБСЕ «Содействие экономической взаимосвязанности в ОБСЕ» (март).

Беларусь поддерживает закрепленную в Хартии европейской безопасности приоритетную роль ОБСЕ в урегулировании конфликтов в регионе ее ответственности на основе уважения суверенитета и территориальной целостности государств-участников.

Республика Беларусь заинтересована в более широком использовании возможностей и потенциала Организации как в плане укрепления безопасности на пространстве ОБСЕ, так и в целях создания благоприятных условий для развития сотрудничества.

Беларусь традиционно выступает в качестве одного из наиболее активных и последовательных сторонников трансформации ОБСЕ в полноценную эффективную международную организацию, действующую в интересах всех государств-участников.

В 2021 году в ОБСЕ председательствует Швеция, в 2022 году во главе Организации встанет Польша, в 2023 – Северная Македония.

 

Дипмиссии Беларуси за рубежом

Все дипмисии Сайт МИД
Перейти