:

Joint consultative group

The Joint Consultative Group (JCG) was established in accordance with Article XVI of the Treaty on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe (CFE Treaty) to consider the issues relating to compliance or possible circumvention of the provisions of the Treaty; to resolve ambiguous situations, disputable aspects and differences in the interpretation, which may arise with regard to the implementation of this Treaty; to consider and agree measures aimed at enhancing the Treaty's viability and effectiveness.

The JCG convenes regular plenary meetings in Vienna. The chairmanship is carried out by the participating States on a rotating basis and in the order of sequence. In accordance with the updated Rules of Procedure and working methods of the JCG since 2016 the Group holds three sessions during the calendar year.

The CFE Treaty was signed on November 19, 1990 in Paris and entered into force on November 9, 1992. Currently there are 30 State Parties to the Treaty. Belarus ratified the CFE Treaty on October 21, 1992.

The Treaty was aimed at establishing secure balance of conventional armed forces in Europe at lower levels, eliminating the inequality of these forces which undermined stability and security; eliminating potential for a surprised attack and large-scale offensive activities in Europe.

The CFE Treaty envisaged the limitation of total levels of armaments and military equipment possessed by two politico-military blocks – the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and the Warsaw Treaty Organization – in five main categories: battle tanks, armored combat vehicles, artillery, combat aircrafts and heavy helicopters.

The process of adaptation of the CFE Treaty, aimed at increasing its effectiveness and viability through the update of the outdated provisions and consideration of changes occurred in Europe since the Treaty had been signed, took place in 1997-1999. This process resulted in signing the Agreement on Adaptation of the CFE Treaty on November 19, 1999 at the OSCE Istanbul Summit. The Agreement implied the transition from the limitations based on the group balance of forces between NATO and Warsaw Treaty to individual limitations for each State Party based on national territorial ceilings for each category of the Treaty limited equipment.

The above-mentioned Agreement should have entered into force under the condition of its ratification by all 30 State Parties. Belarus was the first to ratify the Agreement on Adaptation of the CFE Treaty on August 15, 2000. Afterwards the Agreement was ratified only by Kazakhstan, the Russian Federation and Ukraine. The instruments of ratification were deposited by Belarus, Russia and Kazakhstan. At the same time all efforts aimed at entering into force the Agreement on Adaptation of the CFE Treaty and restoring the viability of the control regime on conventional forces in Europe appeared to be ineffective due to the depth of mutual contradictions between the State Parties.

In connection with the situation around the CFE Treaty, the Russian Federation postponed its implementation in 2007. Russia stopped all activities on the implementation of the CFE Treaty and related documents, including the exchange of information, notifications and inspections.

In 2011 the NATO countries and some other CFE State Parties also suspended exchange of CFE information, notifications and inspections with Russia as a countermeasure.

In 2011 and 2016 the Fourth and Fifth CFE Treaty Review Conferences took place in Vienna. The conferences concluded without any outcome documents.

At present, the Treaty continues to be in a deep crisis, and even its adapted version would no longer reflect the current realities of the politico-military situation on the European continent. At the same time, the CFE Treaty remains the only legally binding instrument in the field of arms control in the OSCE area.

The Republic of Belarus chaired the JCG from January to April 2016. In 2020 the JCG was chaired by Italy, Kazakhstan and United Luxembourg. Since January 2021 the JCG has been chaired by Moldova.

 

Belarusian Diplomatic Missions

All Missions Belarus' Foreign Ministry
Go to

Language
Сейчас в Минске   Погода в городах Беларуси

Главная Беларусь - ОБСЕ Совместная консультативная группа

СОВМЕСТНАЯ КОНСУЛЬТАТИВНАЯ ГРУППА

Совместная консультативная группа (СКГ) учреждена в соответствии со статьей XVI Договора об обычных вооруженных силах в Европе (ДОВСЕ) для рассмотрения вопросов, связанных с соблюдением или возможным обходом положений ДОВСЕ, урегулирования неясных ситуаций, спорных аспектов и разногласий в толковании, которые могут возникнуть в связи с выполнением данного Договора, рассмотрения и согласования мер по повышению его жизнеспособности и эффективности. 

СКГ проводит регулярные пленарные заседания в Вене. Председательство в Группе осуществляется государствами-участниками на ротационной основе в порядке очередности. В соответствии с обновленными Правилами процедуры и методами работы СКГ с 2016 года Группа проводит три сессии в течение календарного года.

Республика Беларусь председательствовала в СКГ с января по апрель 2016 года. В 2017 году в СКГ председательствуют Франция, Грузия и Cоединенное Королевство.

ДОВСЕ был подписан 19 ноября 1990 г. в г.Париже и вступил в силу 9 ноября 1992 года. В настоящее время участниками ДОВСЕ являются 30 государств. Беларусь ратифицировала ДОВСЕ 21 октября 1992 года. 

Целями ДОВСЕ являлись установление безопасного баланса обычных вооруженных сил в Европе на более низких уровнях, устранение неравенств этих сил, наносящих ущерб стабильности и безопасности, ликвидация потенциала осуществления внезапного нападения и начала крупномасштабных наступательных действий в Европе.

ДОВСЕ предусматривал ограничение суммарных уровней обычных вооружений и военной техники по пяти основным категориям (боевые танки, боевые бронированные машины, артиллерия, ударные вертолеты и боевые самолеты) для двух военно-политических блоков — НАТО и Организации Варшавского Договора (ОВД).

В 1997-1999 годах проходил процесс адаптации ДОВСЕ, направленный на повышение эффективности и жизнеспособности Договора путем обновления устаревших положений и учета изменений, произошедших в Европе с момента его подписания. Результатом этого процесса стало Соглашение об адаптации ДОВСЕ, подписанное 19 ноября 1999 г. на Стамбульском саммите Организации по безопасности и сотрудничеству в Европе (ОБСЕ). Соглашение предполагало переход от ограничений, основанных на групповом балансе сил между НАТО и ОВД, к индивидуальным ограничениям для каждого государства-участника на основе национальных предельных уровней по каждой категории ограничиваемых Договором вооружений и техники.

Условием вступления в силу указанного Соглашения являлась его ратификация всеми 30-ю государствами-участниками ДОВСЕ. Беларусь первой ратифицировала Соглашение об адаптации ДОВСЕ 15 августа 2000 г. Впоследствии Соглашение ратифицировали только Казахстан, Российская Федерация и Украина. Ратификационные грамоты были сданы Беларусью, Казахстаном и Россией. В то же время все усилия по вводу в действие Соглашения об адаптации ДОВСЕ и восстановлению жизнеспособности режима контроля над вооружениями в Европе оказались неэффективными по причине глубины взаимных противоречий между государствами-участниками.

В связи с ситуацией, сложившейся вокруг ДОВСЕ, Российская Федерация в 2007 году приостановила действие данного Договора. Россия прекратила всю деятельность по выполнению ДОВСЕ и связанных с ним документов, в том числе обмен информацией, уведомлениями и инспекциями.

В 2011 году страны НАТО и некоторые другие государства-участники также приостановили в отношении России обмен информацией, уведомлениями и инспекциями по ДОВСЕ.

В 2011 и 2016 гг. в г.Вене состоялись четвёртая и пятая Конференции по рассмотрению действия ДОВСЕ, завершившиеся без принятия каких-либо документов.

В настоящее время Договор продолжает находиться в состоянии глубокого кризиса, причем даже его адаптированный вариант уже не отражал бы современных реалий военно-политической ситуации на европейском континенте. В то же время ДОВСЕ остается единственным юридически обязывающим документом в области контроля над вооружениями на пространстве ОБСЕ.